Writer’s Road Map

Here’s a nice writing trick:

We all know that novels have an Act I, an Act II and an Act III. Yes, yes: we obscure this structure underneath the “chapter” structure. But really, most every story should have a beginning, a middle and an end.

For an upcoming story of mine, I decided to map out the act structure from three points of view: The Protagonist (Daria); the Driver (whose actions or inactions motivate the others); and the Antagonist (ain’t giving away any secrets here, friends).

This is a pretty complicated story, so it seemed like a good idea to have the road map charted out.

In Act I: Daria wants to help friends who are under siege; the Driver wants to get out of prison; the Antagonist wants to set up a series of foils in order to distract the good guys (and the readers?).

In Act II, Daria wants to outrun those who want her and her friends dead; the Driver wants to retrieve the Thing gives him Power; and the Antagonist wants to get into position to intercept the Thing of Power.

In Act III, Daria wants to stop the Antagonist; the Driver wants to gain power; and the Antagonist wants to gain power.

There: A neat little roadmap.

Now, I just have to write the damn thing.

About danahaynes

Dana Haynes is the author of ICE COLD KILL (2013), BREAKING POINT (2011) and CRASHERS (2010) from Minotaur and St. Martin's Press.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in Blog. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: